This version corrects some bugs (see ChangeLog for details).
The following new features are added (beside minor ones):
- Including / excluding files
- There are several methods to
include or exclude files. You can read how they interact or
complement in the new section ``Selecting Directories /
Files to Backup''.
- Option stayInFileSystem
- By using this option only file
systems specified by options sourceDir and the symlinks of
followLinks are saved.
- Wildcards for linking series and for replication
- To configure
otherBackupSeries, you can use wildcards now. More on that
topic can be found at the beginning of section ``Using
Wildcards for Replication''.
- Tagging of (un)finished backups
- Prior to this version (3.5),
unfinished backups where tagged with the existence of file
.md5CheckSums.notFinished during the creation of the
backup. This file was deleted after the backup and a filesystem sync
During a run of a backup (as well as a never finished one) it is not
used for external linking from any storeBackup program running on
This behavior of storeBackup.pl now is changed to the
If you upgrade to this version and run your backups (etc.), you do
not have to follow any special instructions. But if you want to
go back to a previous version (like 3.4.3) after running
backups with version 3.5 (or higher), you have to make sure, that all
unfinished backups created by version 3.5 (or later) have been
- Create the new backup directory and run the backup part of
- Run a filesystem sync.
- Create the tag file .storeBackupLinks/backup.Finished.
- Perform deletion of old backups (and maybe unfinished backups
if option deleteNotFinishedDirs is set).
- Option --force for setting up isolated mode
- When setting
up isolated mode, you now can force the usage of the last existing
backup, even if it is not completed with
- Log file options for storeBackupMount.pl
- Added the log file
options known from storeBackup.pl to
storeBackupMount.pl. See section
storeBackupMount.pl for details.
- Changed option name in multiTail.pl
- The option
noOldFiles was changed to noOfOldFiles (``number of old files'')
to make it consistent among all programs.
- Rasberry Pi
- You can find now some explanations about Raspberry
Pi in the FAQ 8.